AGDA Design Awards 2020
Emerging Designer of the Year Finalist Gallery Live

Aimed at designers aged under 30, the AGDA award for Emerging Designer of the Year recognises young designers making their mark on our industry. In its third year, the nominations have grown and grown… and this year they’ve highlighted people who’s contribution to the industry has been outstanding.

Our jury were particularly impressed with 11 entrants who have been recognised as Finalists, with four of them to be elevated to Distinction level and an Emerging Designer of the Year to be awarded.




Each of these people have been chosen not just because of their design work in the studio, but their attitude, impact on culture, personal work, and other extracurricular activities.

Special thank you to our Emerging Designer Jurors:

Shirley Abbatovi – Business Director / Years Months Days (VIC)
Kevin Blackburn – Creative Director & Founder / Made by Big (QLD)
Jane Cameron – Creative Director, Fete/Life (SA)
Zoe Crocker – Designer / Never Sit Still (NSW)
Ryan Guppy – Principal & Creative Director / 21-19 (VIC)
Damian Hamilton – Brand Keeper & Designer / Cornershop (SA)
Susie Nicolai – Director & Designer / Studio Piñata (SA)
Kate Owen – Design Director / Futago (TAS)
Mike Pepper – Head of Strategy / Designworks (NZ)

Our congratulations to all! And please save the date for our online winners announcement on Thurs 3 December.

Best wishes, Adele T

(on behalf of Steve, Shane, and Simon – our 2020 AGDA Awards team)