Studio of the Year 2020
Never Sit Still

Never Sit Still are a Sydney-based studio specialising in motion design for brand. They collaborate with designers, creative directors, studios, musicians, developers and companies from all over the world to help tell their stories – making things move, to help move people. And we are so thrilled that they have been selected by our jurors as the 2020 AGDA Studio of the Year.

2020 has been a big year for the team.

They’ve collaborated with studios including Moniker, Mucho, Frost, Maud, Futurebrand, M35, Christopher Doyle & Co, Moffitt Moffitt, Interbrand, Someone, and Marx; and also worked directly with clients including Microsoft, Pinterest, Athena Home Loans, and Coassemble. 2020 pro bono work included the Murrook Cultural Centre, The Best Awards, AWARD, The Melbourne International Film Festival, RISING, Frameline Festival, and Federation Square.

The studio “believes in giving back to the community that has supported our own growth and development” by attending and speaking at industry events and supporting other creatives. They host training workshops for other studios and agencies. Never Sit Still's Director, Mike Tosetto, is a previous Chair of AGDA NSW and was instrumental in introducing the Motion category to the AGDA awards. Designer Zoe Crocker was a 2020 AGDA event speaker, appeared on Adobe's Live Stream, and lectured at UTS, rounding out the year as a juror for the AGDA Awards, judging the Motion category and the Emerging Designer award.

Overall, their consistently strong, multi award-winning portfolio of work in 2020 has seen the team doubling in size, proudly hiring more females than males, creating a safe space for POC and queer employees, kitting out their team with state-of-the-art equipment, and challenging industry norms via a strict time-in-lieu policy and 9–6pm work culture.